Naturally, everyone should always drive safely and make every effort to avoid causing or contributing to an auto accident. However, it is very important for all drivers to acknowledge that accidents do happen, and they need to be insured and prepared for the worst case scenario. Following is some important information and clarification on the steps that you need to take after a Fayetteville, Georgia, auto accident. Contact the attorneys at Wade Law Offices for more specific information.
Fayetteville, Georgia, Drivers Need To Carry Auto Insurance Coverage
There are minimum requirements for auto insurance coverage in Fayetteville, Georgia. These coverage policies are for liability in the event that a Georgia driver causes an auto accident. The minimum requirements follow a 25/50/25 rule, meaning that you must carry $25K in liability coverage for personal injury or death for one person, $50K for personal injury or death per accident, and $25K for property damage per accident. You can also purchase optional coverage in the form of UIM coverage (underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage), collision coverage, or comprehensive coverage, for example. You are also allowed to purchase more than the minimum in liability coverage.
Important Steps to Take at the Scene of a Fayetteville, Georgia, Auto Accident
Having auto insurance ensures that you are prepared for any damages that may result from an auto accident in Fayetteville, Georgia. When such an accident occurs, you need to know what to do next. This will depend on the severity of the injuries and property damage. If there are any urgent injuries that need immediate medical attention, then you need to call 911 and alert them of your location and the specifics of the injury. They may help you to provide first aid, and they will ensure that emergency medical help arrives quickly. They will also notify the police to come to the scene. You should never leave the scene of any accident without exchanging information and/or waiting for the police to arrive.
You can also work to get the vehicles into a safer position, though you should take photos of their original position first, if possible. It is important to take as many pictures of the scene, the injuries, and any relevant evidence as you can. This could include skid marks, property damage, road conditions, weather conditions, and anything else that seems relevant. The more evidence you have, the better. This is also the time to exchange contact information and insurance information with all other drivers and to collect the contact information of any witnesses.
Filing an Auto Insurance Claim After a Fayetteville, Georgia, Auto Accident
When you have sustained injuries or property damage in a Fayetteville, Georgia, auto accident that was caused by someone else’s negligence, you are entitled to seek compensation in the form of an auto insurance claim. You can get all of your damages compensated up to the value of the at fault driver’s insurance policies. If your damages are greater than this, you can either turn to your UIM coverage for the difference in costs, or you can file a lawsuit against the at fault driver.
Most auto insurance claims never go to court because your auto accident attorney will negotiate on your behalf with the insurance company to reach a fair settlement agreement. You would be wise to avoid talking with the auto insurance company about fault or damages until you’ve had a chance to consult with an attorney. The attorneys at Wade Law Offices are here for you, and we’ll make sure that you get the maximum value of compensation for your auto accident claim.
Be Aware of Your Rights as an Auto Accident Victim in Fayetteville, Georgia
As the victim of a Fayetteville, Georgia, auto accident, you need to know what your rights are and what kinds of auto insurance coverage you have. If you have collision coverage, for example, then you can get you property damage covered by your own policy with a deductible. If you have UIM coverage, then you can get your damages compensated by your own policy if the other driver has no insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your damages. If you are found to be partly responsible for the auto accident, after a thorough investigation, then you may have to handle a portion of your damages yourself. If you are more than 50% liable for an accident, then you cannot seek compensation. If you are partly liable, but less than 51% at fault, then you can get all but your own percentage of fault covered. For instance, if you are 20% at fault, then 20% of your damages will not be compensated. Further, it is important for you to know what the statute of limitations is in your case. All personal injury claims in Georgia allow the victim to recover compensation within a two year statute of limitations. Property damage claims can be pursued within a four year statute of limitations.
What Happens to the At-Fault Drivers After a Fayetteville, Georgia, Auto Accident?
Whenever someone causes an auto accident by breaking the law, perhaps by speeding, drinking and driving, or disobeying a traffic signal, then that driver is likely to face traffic charges. They will then get points on their licenses or might even have their license revoked or suspended. In some cases, the driver will have to take special classes to get their license back. The at-fault driver may also face fines and penalties beyond the cost of compensating the victim for their damages. If the at-fault driver does not have auto insurance, or does not have adequate auto insurance coverage, then they may also be sued in a Fayetteville, Georgia, personal injury lawsuit.
What If the Auto Accident Was Related to Your Job in Fayetteville, Georgia?
There are some situations where an auto accident claim and a workers’ compensation claim may be pursued simultaneously. For instance, if your job involves driving, as a delivery driver, a traveling salesperson, a public transportation provider, or someone who runs errands for their job, then these are situations where an auto accident claim could occur alongside a workers’ compensation claim.
With the workers’ compensation claim, you won’t have to prove liability. Workers’ compensation coverage is there for you no matter how the accident occurs, as long as it happened while you were performing work related activities. However, you can only pursue an auto accident claim if you are not more than 50% at fault for the incident. The outcome of the auto accident claim will not affect or be affected by the outcome of the workers’ compensation claim. To learn more about your options, contact the auto accident attorneys at Wade Law Offices for a free consultation.