If you are hurt in an accident due to the other driver’s negligence, you have certain rights in the state of Georgia that offer both protection and benefits. Georgia is a ‘fault’ state concerning auto insurance claims. That means people who are injured in an accident have options for receiving compensation to pay for medical assistance or damages to their vehicle. The three options available to victims of an auto accident in Peachtree City are as follows:
- 1. The victim can file a claim with their own car insurance company with a request that compensation be paid from the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
- 2. The victim can file a claim directly with the other driver’s insurance company.
- 3. Or, the victim can file a lawsuit in civil court.
Georgia’s Fault-Based System for Automobile Accidents
Georgia’s fault-based system for common auto accident issues makes the at-fault driver liable for personal injuries and any property damage caused by the accident. Their insurance coverage will be considered first, however, if there is anything that the other driver’s policy doesn’t cover, the guilty party will have to pay out-of-pocket. To further ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve when dealing with an at-fault driver, it is best to get in touch with a car wreck attorney in the Peachtree City area.
There are several things that all drivers must know about car accidents in Peachtree City, GA, and what they should do if they are injured due to a negligent driver. Since laws are different in every state, it is a good idea to learn more about your responsibilities and rights anytime you are involved in an auto accident. Here are five things that are good to know if you are ever involved in an auto accident in Peachtree City.
Always Be Prepared When on the Road
Having a car insurance policy is not only a good idea, but it’s also the law in Georgia. Drivers must have at least the minimum coverage of auto insurance in the Peach State. The policy must protect the driver from paying costs associated with one accidental death, injury, or destruction of personal property that totals less than $25k. For accidents involving two deaths, the policy must cover up to $50k in costs.
In Georgia, authorities do not accept your insurance card as proof of an actual policy. Officers that pull drivers over instead check insurance status by using the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System. Therefore, you should be sure that your policy is always up to date. Although the information is available electronically, you should still keep all documents such as your vehicle registration and insurance documentation in the car just in case.
What You Should Do at the Scene of the Accident
One of the most important things that you can do at the scene of an accident is to remain calm and give the police all the details that you can. As the police are creating a report, it is a good idea to exchange information with the other party. Get contact information as well, and find out if there were any witnesses at the scene.
You can take detailed notes, take pictures, and document the damage that was done to both vehicles. There is a form available from the State Bar of Georgia that can help you organize all the details. This information will be helpful if you need to hire a car accident lawyer to receive compensation.
What you Should Do After the Accident
It is very important that you file a claim with your insurance company as soon as you can after the accident. You may be worried about paying out higher premiums, however, if you end up filing a lawsuit against the other party to receive payment for injuries of damage, failure to file a claim will hurt your case.
The State Bar of Georgia recommends that all parties involved in the crash send a written notice that describes the accident and how it affected each person involved. No one should pay any medical bills for the other party until the true at-fault driver is determined.
Understanding Your Rights
Once the at-fault driver is determined, their insurance will pay for all medical bills and damage. But regardless of who was the negligent driver, if you have collision insurance, you should be able to use that coverage to take care of the cost of repairs for your vehicle.
If you are injured in a car accident, you have the right to sue the other party in civil court. The amount that you receive will be determined by a jury who will look at the cost of medical bills, any wages lost, and pain that an individual has suffered due to the accident.
Georgia is one of the US states that follows the 50 Percent Bar Rule. This means the driver is unable to recover losses if they are found to be more than 50 percent at fault. To determine if it would be in your favor to file a lawsuit against the other party, you should get in touch with one or more auto accident lawyers in your area for more details.
Dealing with the Aftermath of the Crash
Once the auto accident is settled, and everyone has received either their compensation or the amount their insurance will need to pay, drivers can still be left with multiple issues that they must address. If the victims of the accident feel they didn’t receive adequate compensation for their injuries of damage, they will have the chance to file an appeal with a higher court of law.
Just keep in mind that appealing a case is still not a guarantee that you will end up with the results you desire. To improve your odds, take the time to do some research and speak with auto accident lawyers in your area. Contact Wade Law Firm today to assist you with your case.
View these other frequently asked questions pages: