Can I File a Car Accident Claim Against an Uninsured Driver in Peachtree, GA?

Although all states in the USA enforce minimum car insurance requirements, these vary from state to state. Motorists are required to show proof of insurance before they can register their vehicle. However, there are car owners that cancel their car accident claim coverage after registration and the percentage of drivers who cancel increases during difficult economic times. The Insurance Information Institute (III) has produced a report showing statistics for every state in the nation. While Georgia has minimum insurance requirements for bodily injury and property damage, III data estimates that 12% of motorists in the state are uninsured. While this is not as high as other states like Florida and Mississippi, there are still a significant number of uninsured drivers on Georgia’s roads and highways.

If you are driving in Peachtree City, there is a chance that you may be hit by an uninsured driver, which complicates your car accident claim. In this event, you would be strongly advised to enlist the help of a car crash attorney.

What Are the Auto Insurance Requirements in Georgia?

Lawyer for Car Accident Claim in Peachtree City, Georgia
Filing a car accident claim against an uninsured driver can be complex. Wade Law Firm can help.

Under Georgia motor vehicle and traffic laws, all motorists are required to have the legislated minimum car insurance coverage. This includes a coverage of $25,000 per person or $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. These requirements are intended to ensure that motorists are able to pay for the other driver’s medical and property damage costs if they cause an accident.

Most insurers covering motorists in Peachtree City offer optional additional car insurance coverage. Minimum insurance requirements are intended to cover the other party in the crash, and may not be sufficient to reimburse you for your injuries or property damage in the event of a car accident claim. Optional car insurance coverage includes:

  • Collision. This category covers the repair costs for your vehicle in the event of an accident. You may choose a cover limit, but it includes a deductible cost which you must pay before your insurer pays the rest.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive coverage will cover all physical damage to your car, not only the loss caused during a car accident. This also carries a deductible.

Can I Take Out Insurance for Losses Caused by an Uninsured Motorist?

Despite the traffic laws, there are still many drivers without car insurance in the state of Georgia. Drivers in Peachtree City can opt for uninsured motorists coverage from their insurance companies. If an uninsured driver causes an accident and cannot pay you for the damage, this plan will pay for your medical expenses and car repair bills. This optional insurance coverage not only covers you for an uninsured motorist, but can also provide financial protection against drivers who are underinsured.

You have the option of setting the limit of coverage to adequately protect you when filing a car accident claim against an uninsured motorist. However, there is a maximum limit set by insurance companies for uninsured motorists coverage, which may not be higher than the cover for bodily injury and property damage on your policy. Insurers will always attempt to pay out the lowest amount possible to settle any claim, but a car crash attorney can help you to get the settlement that you deserve.

How Can I File a Georgia Car Accident Claim Against an Uninsured Motorist?

With the high number of uninsured drivers in Georgia, it’s important to be prepared to face the risk of having an accident with an uninsured motorist in Peachtree City. First and foremost, you should never apologize to other drivers or witnesses to the accident, as this may be seen as an admission of responsibility for causing the crash and will compromise your car accident claim. Always allow a law enforcement investigation to take its course and determine the cause of the accident.

Contact law enforcement and a medical emergency service if someone has been injured. Gather information from witnesses and the other driver involved in the accident, including details of the other driver’s insurance.

After the car crash, write down all that you remember of the crash while it is still fresh in your memory so that you can file an accurate car accident claim. Insurance companies have many years of experience in fighting claims and will try to pay out as little as possible. It is critical, especially after being involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, that you contact a car crash attorney for help as soon as possible.

Consult with a Georgia Attorney About Your Car Accident Claim

You cannot afford to risk losing out on your car accident claim. Contact an established car accident attorney at Wade Law Offices in Peachtree City, GA to help you file your claim and fight to get the settlement you deserve.

View these other frequently asked questions pages:

Do You Have to Go to the Hospital After a Car Accident?


When is the Best Time to Sue After a Wreck?


Should You Sue Even If You Feel Bad for the Other Driver?